Two weeks till Election Day, and I wake up to…

Isn’t this lovely:

Rep. Robin Hayes (R-N.C.) has conceded that he did tell a North Carolina crowd that "liberals hate real Americans that work and accomplish and achieve and believe in God," even though he initially denied making such a statement.

For the record, I am not a member of any political party, nor do I uniformly support any political party. But nonsense like that spouted by Rep. Hayes is a large part of the reason I find myself leaning left more often than not. How completely offensive!

Let’s see. I work – I’m a full-time research chemist. I like to think I’ve accomplished something – I have a graduate degree in chemistry, and I’m working on making plastics from sustainable (agricultural) sources. I just married my best friend and high school sweetheart (we didn’t want to rush into anything, so we dated for 13 years before taking the plunge). I’ve achieved plenty in my life, though I may have fallen a bit short on that Nobel Prize in chemistry. I do believe in God – I’m a devout practicing Roman Catholic Christian, though I suppose that makes me "worse" than someone who doesn’t believe in God.

I guess I don’t qualify as a "real American" because of my political leanings, then. Thank you, Rep. Hayes, for clearing that up for me. I’ve been living in the wrong place for the last 30 years! I’ve been paying taxes to the wrong government and supporting the wrong armed forces and celebrating the wrong holiday on July 4.

When I see remarks like this, I’m reminded of a catchy slogan I once read:

"The Christian Right… IS NEITHER."

Leave a Reply

