Relief Effort

I meant to post this last night, but I didn’t because I was just too tired when I got home.  I work in a water bottling facility.  It is not a job I particularly want to be doing.  It is a job that I put up with while I look for something else in my field.

But last night?  Last night I was extremely proud to be working there.  It’s a small plant.  We bottle water strictly in gallon jugs and supply stores mostly in the central Midwest.  When I got to work yesterday, there were 18-wheelers everywhere.  They were all jumbled up in the big lot where we park empty trailers, jockeying for position so they could back into the docks and be loaded.  They were lined up all along the street leading into the plant.  I couldn’t imagine what the deal was; surely we weren’t THAT far behind on production.

It turns out, they were ALL waiting to be loaded up with water that’s being taken to a staging area in Texas, to be given to the refugees.

In the last 24 hours, we have bottled eighty-three THOUSAND gallons of water that’s being taken down to the people who need it so desperately.

I might dislike my job and be actively seeking to change it, but this morning, I’m proud to be doing that kind of work.  I’m responsible for making sure that water is safe to drink, and I’m proud that I can at least make that small contribution to all the victims of Hurricane Katrina.

toastandt, I haven’t answered your question about hours because mine are somewhat fluid at the moment.  I’m currently working 4pm-2am during the week and 3pm-3am on Saturdays.  My boss, however, will be visiting our plant next week, and he’s been making noises about changing the schedule, so I have no idea what my hours are going to be in two weeks time.  I’ll let you know as soon as I find out, though!

2 thoughts on “Relief Effort

  1. might dislike my job and be actively seeking to change it, but this morning, I’m proud to be doing that kind of work. I’m responsible for making sure that water is safe to drink, and I’m proud that I can at least make that small contribution to all the victims of Hurricane Katrina.

    That is soooo cool! God Bless you real good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

