Randomness

One good thing about my new job:  I get paid weekly, and I get paid well.  Know what I just did?  Paid off my credit card debt.  All of it.  That is SUCH a good feeling.

Also (toastandt will appreciate the irony of this), as I was being introduced to the day shift crew, the plant supervisor said, “And this character over here is Orlando.”  I turned around with my heart in my mouth, thinking to myself, “Don’t be an idiot, he probably doesn’t look anything like the actor…”  And he doesn’t look anything like the actor.  Orlando Bloom is, perhaps, the most beautiful man I’ve ever seen.  Orlando, my coworker, is the blackest person I have ever seen.  His skin is so dark, it’s almost blue.  And he likes to tease me a lot.  😛

And last night, I was bizarrely reminded of “Rime of the Ancient Mariner,” by Samuel Taylor Coleridge.  We bottle two types of water, spring water and distilled water.  The spring water is hauled in by the tanker load, and we prepare the distilled water by sending municipal water through a couple of giant stills and into holding tanks.  Yesterday, we finished bottling all the spring water that the plant had orders for, and then we started in on the distilled.  Well.  Since we’re running 24/6, we actually managed to use up all the water.  We couldn’t make it fast enough to keep up with the pace of bottling.  We had to shut down for an hour twice just to give the stills a chance to catch up a little.

Water, water, every where,
And all the boards did shrink;
Water, water, every where,
Nor any drop to drink.

One thought on “Randomness

  1. Ach, yes, my heart would’ve inadvertantly risen as well. But alas, we cannot all be as beautiful as that boy. I know many lovely women who aren’t as pretty as he is. (Oddly enough.) But it’s probably even better to be friendly and funny and nice, which it sounds like your Orlando is.
    I’m glad the hard work is paying off for you, and I do look forward to being able to talk with you pretty soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

