When it rains, it pours

*sigh*

I’ve had quite enough of everything hitting me at once lately, thank you.

My Uncle just started radiation treatments for prostate cancer.  I think they caught it early enough, but still.  Cancer makes me Very Nervous.  I’ve lost a lot of people I love to it, and I don’t want to lose another.  S’why I went into chemistry, really.  I was too young to understand when Memere died (that would be my mother’s mother – family’s Quebecois, so we use the French Canadian appellations for grandparents and such).  I didn’t understand why she went to the doctor and the doctor couldn’t fix her.  I loved her desperately, and I miss her still.  I went into chemistry because I didn’t want another child to know the pain and confusion I felt when she passed.  I want to work on cancer chemotherapeutics when I finally take a position in my field.  But anyway, Uncle Joe’s started radiation, so say a prayer for him.

I’m still looking for a job.  Have a couple good leads, but they’re both night shift.  That’s good in the sense that it will leave me free to go to class, review sessions, etc., but still.  Night shift.  Ugh.  They’re both in the $12-$14 an hour range, though, so that’s something.  But still, no new job yet.

And my computer monitor died last night.  I’m currently borrowing the bf’s spare.  I really don’t have the money to buy a new one at the moment.  If I get one of these jobs I’ve interviewed for, it won’t be an issue, but I don’t have the job yet, and money’s a bit tight.

Memo to the Universe:  Okay, you’ve dumped enough on my plate for the next little bit here.  Thanks awfully.

2 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours

Leave a Reply

