*Squeak!*

I have some news on the writing front. Anyone who knows me knows that I write fiction as one of my many and varied hobbies. Firstly of all, I’ve decided to enter the local newspaper’s short story contest. The deadline is Dec. 17th, and I’m going to write a new story just for it. My first ever contest! Wish me luck.

Secondly, and highly, highly exciting, is this: Last year and this year, I have participated in the grand writing frenzy known as NaNoWriMo. The object of the game is to turn out a 50k word novel (novella, really) written entirely during the month of November. I sent a published writer friend of mine a few exerpts of this year’s project, and she was very impressed. She was impressed enough to offer to give the finished manuscript (after revisions, rewrites, that sort of thing) to some literary agents of her acquaintance for their review.

Eeeeeeeeee!

I’m just a little excited about that. *cough*

4 thoughts on “*Squeak!*

  1. I found my way over here when browsing journals of other lacemakers (I’m into bobbin lace, though, but it wouldn’t surprise me if I tried to learn tatting one of these days; my mother knows how to) and then discovered you’re a fellow Tolkien person too. Congratulations on finishing NaNoWriMo and getting someone in the trade to look at your work!
    I loved reading through your posts, so I hope you don’t mind me friending you.

    Like

    1. Oh, I don’t mind at all! Thank you for taking interest in me. šŸ™‚ I didn’t quite finish NaNoWriMo – once it became serious, it was more important to me that the story be good than that it be fast, so I’m still working on it.
      I haven’t done a whole lot of tatting lately – I’m currently crocheting like a madwoman to finish up some projects by Christmas. I’ll pick it up again on the flight home, though. Tatting’s great for doing on airplanes and in airports while on layover.
      I taught myself to tat as a teen, and I love the portability of the art. If you’re already into bobbin lace, I think you should be able to pick it up. I know a good site with video demos if you decide to give it a crack, though with your mother on hand, you may not need it.

      Like

      1. Interesting…I AM a “teen” and I taught myself to tat a couple weeks ago. I thought it was more distinctive than knitting which recently got very popular at my school but I don’t think ANYBODY knows how to tat. Could you show me stuff I could do as inspiration to get really, really good?

        Like

      2. Sorry it took me so long to reply! The Great LJ Outage took place right after you posted this comment, and I must confess I lost track of it in the shuffle.
        As far as tips to improve your tatting, my best advice to you would be to practice, practice, practice. Especially at first, I would stick to smallish projects. Tatting is not a speedy art, especially not if you tat with a shuttle, so the smaller projects give you more results in less time, if you will. Snowflakes, medallions, Christmas ornament covers, and bookmarks are all good choices.
        Secondly, take advantage of the internet. As rare and obscure and art as tatting is, there is a TON of stuff out there, from free patterns to book reviews to lessons to teach you new techniques. There are also mailing lists for tatters that you can join. (Since you say you’re a teen, be sure you get your parents’ permission if you’re still a minor.) Here’s some links to get you started:
        BellaOnline ‘statting page
        Tattered
        Shar’s tatting demos
        etatters — the largest online group of tatters
        One thing you can do if you join any mailing lists is ask if anybody online knows of a lacers’ guild in your area. If you’re lucky enough to have one, you can meet up with folks who tat, which is the best way to learn new techniques and swap patterns.
        Hope this helps! Good luck to you. šŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

